life · lifestyle · love · relationship advice

Marry Me Because …

Marriage is the legally and formally recognized union of two people as partners in a personal relationship. In the internet, it also indicates specifically and historically between a man and woman. Well, screw that. We’re in 2017. All marriages are equal. Anyway, what has suddenly come to this topic? Firstly, I am not getting married. Secondly, I’ve had “marriage proposals” before from idiots and like to kill their brain cells. Third, that’s about it.

As a fan of commitments, I love being tied down to that one special someone. It’s only a matter of finding the one and know that I will spend the rest of my life with. I admire long term commitments. It’s beautiful. But marriage shouldn’t be used just because it’s a solution to your failed relationship. Or you think you know this person well enough to marry them to get what you want. The term “marriage” is the end to all long term relationships. Once you put a ring on it, you are forever tied down with that person. I’m not saying it’s a doom. It’s a huge step towards any long term relationships.

I’ve been asked by a couple of idiots before and let me say they’re idiots. Like why would you want to marry me? You don’t even know me. I know there are some people that just knows deep down in their guts. But these idiots I’ve come across want to marry me for the wrong reasons. It’s not about being tied down with them forever as an emotional lifelong commitment. It’s about getting what they want. From sex to green card, it’s their key of advantage. But being way too smart, I said no. Because they’re not good for me.

It’s wrong to marry someone because you want these advantages. Or you think it’ll fix your failed relationship. Heck no. People need to stop using marriage like a condom. Marriage isn’t a box of condoms you can buy at a store. Then use it and throw it out. My boyfriend and I talk future together. Lately, on rare cases, he would talk kids and marriage in the relationship. I’m not implying that I will marry the guy. I still wouldn’t know because future isn’t predictable. He’s barely in his early 20s. Yes, he’s younger than me. I want him to have fun in his 20s. When you’re in 20s, you don’t want to shift into marriage and kids so soon. Although, there are people like me that already plan on marriage and kids since they were 17. But never talked with anyone they dated. That’s because I can’t see them in my future and commitment scares the crap out of them.

Then there are the 0.01% idiots think marriage will be the answer. Like no, dude. Come on. If you want to marry me, you have to know what you’re doing. You’re officially casting yourself to be in my life forever. You can’t go back. It is the end to all long term relationships and the beginning to a new chapter. Plus you have to be truly in love. So marry me because you want to. Not because it’s a solution. Marry for the right reason.

Leave a Reply

