life · relationship advice · sex

Friends with Benefits

I already covered my views on sex on this blog. If you want to read it,  here’s the blog Sex and Love. In an overview, I’m a bit of an old fashion. I believe sex belongs in a loving commitment. It’s an emotional and physical bond between two people that love each other. If you have different beliefs, then it’s fine. No one is forcing a gun to your head. It’s only a matter of time before you realize that love is much better than hook-ups.

As a person who loves commitment, Friends with Benefits isn’t something I could do. I’ve had a few relationships that drag on without any label. But no intimacy involved nor sex was ever discussed. It’s a bit more complicated. I don’t know how people can do it. You don’t see the person that way. You’re just in it for the sex. No emotional bonding or some sort. Just physical pleasure. I had a friend who tried it out once. It only lasted a couple years before his feelings got in the way. After that, I never seen a successful friends with benefit relationship without anything getting in the way.

I find it awkward to even just doing it with someone you can’t see yourself in a relationship with. I don’t have much experience because again I’m old fashioned. I refused to even participate in the act. I did get offers via internet. But I always deny them. I’m very happy I made the right call and stayed true to myself. Not saying those who don’t follow the tradition is bad. I’m saying be safe, that’s all. Sometimes feelings can get in the way and the thing doesn’t turn out the way you both want to be. In my humble opinion, I think it’s best to be safe and don’t hurt anyone in the process. Be sure to know what you’re doing. Other than that, the choice is yours.

6 thoughts on “Friends with Benefits

  1. Fwb is tough, but when both parties are communicative of expectations, it is possible to have a fwb relationship that works. I’m in one now that’s been going on for about 9 months, he’s Neighbor Boy in my blog. It’s not for everyone, but for me, I’m not in a position to be in a committed relationship right now, but I enjoy sex, so fwb and casual sex is what works best.

    Like

    1. That’s true. Like I said in my blog, as long you’re safe and know what you’re doing that doesn’t hurt people, then you’re good xD I can’t really convince people to be in a commitment in order to have sex. Everyone has their own beliefs when it comes to that department.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

